Call us: 01727 824 479

"All Testimonials" Testimonials

Click here to submit you review

Mobile Again!

on 18 Feb 2019 by Hilary Smith | Occupation: Retired

I have suffered for over 20 years with lower back pain but just after Christmas my back went into spasm and I couldn’t even get out of bed. I was recommended to TeeJay and after a couple of sessions I was more mobile than I had been in years. I cannot thank him enough – he knew exactly what the problem was and how to treat it.

Transformed my life

on 18 Jan 2019 by Mary | Occupation: Doctor

I suffered for years with right knee pain and intermittent joint swelling which persisted after two arthroscopies. I was developing a fixed flexion. Last year to compound matters I developed sciatica down the left leg from an osteophyte. I was in a bad way as the knee pain meant my muscles were weak, this effected my posture which in turn aggravated the sciatica. I was advised to try reformer Pilates and I was lucky to find Applied Pilates was close to where I live. When I met Teejay he was very welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable and knew exactly what I needed; he devised a programme of exercise which was tailored to my needs and as the weeks went by I became stronger, my right leg is now straight again and the sciatica has improved so much that I have days when I am totally free of pain. My life has been transformed, I look forward to my weekly sessions as I continue to strengthen my muscles and improve my posture.
Teejay’s wife Susan is delightful and very experienced too as I found out when I had some sessions with her.
One must not forget the gorgeous Jesse, the dog, who is so friendly and greets everyone.

The relief was immediate

on 17 Jan 2019 by Sylvie S | Occupation: Carer

I had been suffering from shoulder tension and back pain for over a month. It was getting debilitating at work and I became restless at night due to the pain. After my first session with Teejay I felt an immediate improvement and slept like a log that night! Now 4 days after my second treatment I am pain free and can get back to a normal routine. I would highly recommend Teejay’s expertise and care.

I would urge anyone to give it a try

on 23 Nov 2018 by Lynn | Occupation: Retired

After my doctor and physiotherapist tried and failed to alleviate my lower back pain and sciatica, a friend recommended Applied Pilates.  I knew things would only get worse if I did nothing so I called Susan and, having told her about my problems, I explained that I was in my sixties, overweight and had done no serious exercise since I left school fifty years ago.  I thought she would tell me she couldn’t help, but I was so wrong!  She and Teejay have made me very welcome and designed a series of exercises to help me.  I have been attending classes for a year now and I am amazed at the results.  After a few months, the back pain was gone.  I am a lot stronger now;  my posture and balance have also improved and everyday tasks have become much easier.  For someone who doesn’t ‘do’ exercise, I look forward to each of Susan’s classes and really enjoy it.  I would urge anyone to give it a try.

Hip Op Happy!

on 21 Nov 2018 by Melanie | Occupation: Surveyor

In my early 30s I’d been advised by doctors that I’d need to have both my hips replaced at some point in the near future.  About 2.5 years ago a friend recommended trying reformer pilates to ease the restricted movement and discomfort caused by my deteriorating hips and put me in touch with Teejay and Susan at Applied Pilates.

Even from my first session I was standing straighter and walking better.  My goal was to get “match-fit” ready for when I’d finally get my hips replaced and the exercise routine I was given was tailored to my abilities and focused on improving the strength of my core muscles while trying to stretch the muscles in my hips and thighs.

At the beginning of 2018, I had my right hip replaced and just 8 weeks later my left hip was replaced.  I really believe that the success of both operations and the speed of my recovery is mainly due to the preparation work at Applied Pilates. I can’t thank Teejay and Susan enough.

The work is not over though and I’m still a regular at Applied Pilates. The exercises have increased in difficulty as my strength and flexibility have improved. My job is largely desk bound so I need these sessions to counteract the dangers of sitting still for long periods of time.  Plus I love the friendly atmosphere created by the small group setting which keeps me coming back for more. This is definitely the longest “gym” membership I’ve ever had!

In my 80’s and still going strong

on 17 Nov 2018 by Brian | Occupation: Retired

For over ten years now I have been attending Applied Pilates at least once a week. There is no doubt whatever that I have benefitted greatly from it – not only physically but in terms of my general wellbeing. The equipment is modern without being intimidating and can be adjusted to suit all sizes and ages. I am now into my eighties and still going strong. The six stations in the studio are always fully occupied by a mixed gender clientele and the atmosphere is friendly, helped by music that covers all tastes. Above all, TJ and Susan are well qualified professionally, constantly attending to the individual needs of the clients and changing the exercises if necessary. It is no exaggeration to state that I always feel better at the end of a session than I do going in.

Exercising with Osteoporosis

on 16 Nov 2018 by Liz | Occupation: Housewife

I love the way Susan and Teejay are able to fit the pilates programme to everone’s individual needs; in my case osteoporosis.  I could not do high impact exercises such as skipping or running on tarmac, so Susan fitted a small trampoline to the end of my Reformer bench.

Having been diagnosed 3 years ago, my check-up bone density scan taken last year showed that my bones were improving: one hip had gone from osteoporosis to having less serious osteopenia, ie thinning of the bone rather than looking like a Swiss cheese!

I also think the exercises improve my circulation as they seem to involve every muscle in the body; I come out of my weekly class feeling stronger and fitter.

What’s not to like about doing a work out lying on your back!

You are never too old!

on 21 Sep 2018 by Tessa | Occupation: Retired

You are never too old for Applied Pilates – and I  speak from experience!  I am 84 and the class is the most worthwhile hour I spend in the week to make sure I can going on doing all the things I love. It helps my strength, has rediscovered and improved my balance enormously and I can recommend it to anyone who wants to maintain their stamina and general wellbeing.  There is always professional support on hand throughout the session which is much appreciated by everyone.

Best for strength and flexibility

on 9 May 2018 by Finella T | Occupation: Lettings & Property Management

Over the years I have tried various forms of exercise and I have found this to be the most beneficial and enjoyable. Having suffered from lower back pain in the past, the reformers and the structured exercises have really helped. I rarely now have any problems. Susan has been brilliant at encouraging me to progress and keeps a watchful eye out if any errors. Not only are the classes very enjoyable; Susan and Teejay are Pilates professionals with very high levels of expertise. I know the exercises they have set for me work for me and not against me. When I finish the class I feel better and stronger every time. I highly recommend this studio to everyone.

Amazing Results For Back Pain – Best Money I’ve Ever Spent!

on 30 Apr 2018 by Vicki W | Occupation: Educational Psychologist

I honestly can’t recommend Susan & Teejay highly enough. After suffering from lower back pain for years as a result of hypermobility, I hit a wall early last year when the sciatic pain was unbearable. I read some reviews for Applied Pilates & thought I would try an initial consultation. I was really impressed with Teejay & continued to have a few 1:1 sessions before moving into group classes. The reduction in my pain has been amazing, never thought it would go away & still can’t quite believe it! Susan’s classes have been fantastic, & most recently she has helped me to continue exercising throughout my pregnancy & given me brilliant care & support. I can’t imagine not coming to these classes, I’m hooked! Thanks to you both. I recommend you to everyone!