Call us: 01727 824 479

"Chronic Pain" Testimonials

Click here to submit you review

Mobile Again!

on 18 Feb 2019 by Hilary Smith | Occupation: Retired

I have suffered for over 20 years with lower back pain but just after Christmas my back went into spasm and I couldn’t even get out of bed. I was recommended to TeeJay and after a couple of sessions I was more mobile than I had been in years. I cannot thank him enough – he knew exactly what the problem was and how to treat it.

I would urge anyone to give it a try

on 23 Nov 2018 by Lynn | Occupation: Retired

After my doctor and physiotherapist tried and failed to alleviate my lower back pain and sciatica, a friend recommended Applied Pilates.  I knew things would only get worse if I did nothing so I called Susan and, having told her about my problems, I explained that I was in my sixties, overweight and had done no serious exercise since I left school fifty years ago.  I thought she would tell me she couldn’t help, but I was so wrong!  She and Teejay have made me very welcome and designed a series of exercises to help me.  I have been attending classes for a year now and I am amazed at the results.  After a few months, the back pain was gone.  I am a lot stronger now;  my posture and balance have also improved and everyday tasks have become much easier.  For someone who doesn’t ‘do’ exercise, I look forward to each of Susan’s classes and really enjoy it.  I would urge anyone to give it a try.

I’m well at last!

on 7 Mar 2018 by Paul | Occupation: Electrician

Having had trouble, well all sorts of trouble with nerve pain in my back (sciatica ) my neck arms, fingers, knees and feet for 20 years (I know, l’m a walking nightmare), I can finally say I’m so pleased and relieved to have found this studio. Over the years I’ve seen consultant after consultant, Physios Osteopaths, Alexanders, you name it I’ve been there handed over the cash. Well, I can finally and genuinely say I’m so relieved to have found a place that has improved my situation greatly. It’s hard work but I enjoy the effort and believe in putting in and getting out ! I’m not perfect, crikey but I’m so much better and I’m more positive about my body and how to look after it! Thank you very much Susan & Teejay.

My former self back again!

on 12 Jul 2017 by Jayne | Occupation: Hairdresser

After a long 3 day labour 13 years ago my beautiful daughter was born but unfortunately my coccyx got so damaged that I could not sit for longer than 10 minutes at a time, the pain was awful, with damaged ligaments and nerves. I also had a prolapsed disc in my spine and was again in agony and could not do any of my normal activities for 3 months. So I started at Applied Pilates with Susan and Teejay after them both being highly recommended. My life has changed so much…..I can now sit without being in pain and my normal activities have all resumed without being in pain. After having steroid injections every year for 12 years into my coccyx and spine I’ve not had to have anymore and hopefully shall never need another ever again thanks to my weekly Pilates workout. A huge thank you to the lovely and very clever Susan and Teejay! My former self is back again! X

Back pain gone!

on 17 Nov 2016 by Eleanor | Occupation: Senior Buying Manager

After back surgery to remove a prolapsed disc I was still experiencing intermittent back pain 2 yrs later despite regular osteopath visits. I was recommended to clinical pilates and wish I had known about it years ago. My back pain has disappeared thanks to Teejay and Susan who have been supportive and fantastic teachers. My core strength has improved massively, back pain has been cured and now take weekly classes to maintain my well being. The classes are small and friendly and very welcoming. I can’t recommend the Applied Pilates too highly, excellent results and feel like I have a new lease of life.

Why didn’t I start years ago!

on 27 Oct 2016 by Natalie | Occupation: Actuary

After years of physios telling me “Pilates, pilates, pilates!” to help my back, I finally listened and started coming to group sessions with Teejay and Susan. After just 4 short months I have seen a noticeable improvement in my strength and have considerably less discomfort in my lower back. I find that many of the techniques I am learning are starting to become instinctive in my everyday life and this is making a big difference.

I thoroughly enjoy the group sessions – there is a relaxed, friendly atmosphere that is warm and welcoming, and it is also inspiring to watch those who are more advanced and know what I might be able to do one day!

I wish I had started years ago – thanks Teejay and Susan!

I hate exercise!

on 5 Feb 2015 by Arianne | Occupation: Designer

Following years of pain and 2 operations on a prolapsed disc, I started Teejay’s Pilates classes about 2 years ago with a programme of exercises tailored to my specific problem. Over that period my back health has improved significantly along with the quality of my life. I hate any form of exercise but this is one class I would not want to give up!

Osteoarthritic Hip Not A Back Problem!

on 29 Oct 2014 by Tess | Occupation: Retired

I am an energetic 80 year old who had back surgery 3 years ago. After six months I had serious pain in my leg, struggled to walk more than 100 yards at a time. I was diagnosed with nerve damage. When I saw Teejay he immediately assessed a hip problem. I am about to have surgery and cannot thank him enough for spotting a problem all the medics had overlooked. I soon look forward to getting back to Pilates and also all the many activities that I haven’t been able to do for 5 years.

Remarkable improvements for headaches

on 7 Jun 2014 by James | Occupation: Marketing

After around 9 months of almost daily headaches caused by neck pain, I found this site and read the reviews, which encouraged me to give applied pilates a go. It’s been life changing as I’ve seen significant reductions in the occurrence and severity of headaches after only a few months, so I wanted to leave a review to recommend to anyone suffering similar problems to give it a try! The classes have a great atmosphere and it feels great to be getting back to fitness after a long time out with this injury. I tried lots of different treatments before this, including chiropractors and massages, but none made such a difference. Thanks Teejay – your help has been greatly appreciated! 🙂

Real progress

on 4 May 2014 by Matt | Occupation: Teacher

I had suffered from a chronic pain condition for a long time which had knocked my confidence, and gradually sapped my strength. My bodyweight was right down and I was having trouble doing just than normal things everyday without pain. I started seeing Teejay last July, and within just a few months my pain threshold and relative strength grew hugely. I’m much more confident in so many areas now, thanks to regular sessions with activities built around my needs, and sound advice on all kinds of aspects of my fitness. Many thanks Teejay 🙂